h1

It’s All In The Name Pt. II

August 29, 2008
The Bandit from the '77 film. I named my second grandson after this character. It fits!

The Bandit from the 1977 film. I named my second grandson after the character in this movie. It turned out to be appropriate!

 A week or two ago we informed you how my wife and I were given the honor of naming our two oldest grandsons born to our daughter and son-in-law (we have a total of four grandsons and another grandbaby due February ’09. The last three belong to our oldest son and daughter-in-law). Our oldest grandson, Hunter, was named after rock ‘n roll great Ian Hunter. With our second grandson the name fell upon me after M-O-N-T-H-S of arguing, negotiating and bargaining about names between my wife and daughter. Fed up, they bestowed the honor on me to make the selection.
 
One Friday night, almost five years ago, my wife and daughter were still arguing over the name when Hunter and I jumped on the couch to watch a movie. I wanted him to see one of my favorite movies from the 70’s, Smokey & The Bandit (c’mon, Gleason is a genius!). As we were watching the movie they came to the part where the Bandit (Burt Reynolds) had just gotten Frog (Sally Field) in the car and as he was relating his life story she asked him about the name Bandit, It was then that the Bandit said, ‘My name is Beau Darville’ and it hit me! Beau!
 
A cool name (in my opinion), a masculine name and hell, the Bandit, in the first movie, was a pretty cool dude with some attitude that is not unlike some members of my family (the first time I saw Smokey & The Bandit back in 1977 I swore it was a loose adaptation of my older brother Don’s life!). So Beau it was!
 
And yes, as it turns out, my grandson Beau does have some of the Bandit’s attitude!
 
He will be five years old next April so look out school!

 

 

My second grandson, Beau 'The Bandit'. Photo taken a little over three years ago. He is definitely has some 'Bandit' attitude and it's all good!

My second grandson, Beau. This pic was taken a little over 3 years ago. He definitely has some ‘Bandit’ attitude so the name is very much appropriate!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

