h1

Me & The Guys: Rediscovered 60’s Gem

September 13, 2008
Ohio In The '60s Vol. 2

Psychedelic States: Ohio In The 60’s Vol. 2

Ever since The Beatles appeared on the Ed Sullivan Show I have been a rock ‘n roll fanatic and whether the bands were from England, the USA or down the street, if it was good rock ‘n roll I was in. Back in the mid-1960’s I was too young to go check out any local bands but through my older brother and sister I would hear about them and one in particular, Me & The Guys, impressed me as a kid because they were from the next town over (Wooster, Ohio) and they had a record out!
 
Somewhere around 1966 my older sister and friends went to the north end of Wooster to the Lazy J Ranch, a camp grounds, to check out a local rock band (we used to have family reunions there). They were called Me & The Guys and Cheryl brought home a new 45 single that the band released, I Can’t Take It. The B Side was a tune called Why Can’t You Be True? Needless to say, it got played at our house. I would also assume that local radio station WWST (now known as WQKT) played it.
 
I always wanted to see the band but never got the chance. I can recall being soooo impressed that a band located here in humble Wayne County, Ohio had a rock ‘n roll record out. They had to be big time!
 
The band, made up of Wooster High School students, started out in 1964 as the Cobras before changing their name to the Ascots. They finally settled on Me & The Guys and played high school dances and the like. They also had a regular gig at the Lazy J Ranch that was a popular destination for Wayne County teenagers back then. (In ’77 the campground changed ownership and was renamed Beck’s Family Campground. It is now known as the Lazy B Ranch.)
 
Members of the band included Bill Ross on guitar, Joel Culp on guitar, Tom Taylor on bass and Steve Young on drums. By the time the fall of 1967 rolled around three of the band members went off to college and the band disbanded. There are reports they regrouped for a one-shot reunion gig in 1977. Joel Culp went on to gain some notoriety as a member of the famed Buckeye Biscuit country-rock band in the 70’s.
 
The record has since been lost to time but a recent conversation with a fellow local rock historian got me to thinking about the record and the band so I did a little searching and found out that Why Can’t You Be True was re-released in 2005 on a compilation CD called, Psychedelic States: Ohio In The ’60s Vol. 2. This CD is made up of songs from various Ohio-based garage bands from the 1960’s and Me & The Guys are represented with the aforementioned Why Can’t You Be True?
 
So Amazon here I come. And another chance to relive my childhood!

 

A scan of an autographed copy of the band's 45-single released in 1966. Pic (c) Garagehangover.com (see link at right).

A scan of an autographed copy of the band’s 45-single released in 1966. Pic (c) Garagehangover.com (see link at right).

 

4 comments

  1. I remember Me and the Guys well! We had a fan club for them and I sent out a monthly newsletter about what they were doing and upcoming events. I watched them rehearse a couple of times and went to almost all the dances at the Lazy J. I had the record too but I haven’t seen it in forever. No doubt it’s been misplaced. I’m glad I stumbled onto your blog. If I can find Psychedelic States: Ohio In The ’60s Vol. 2, I’ll buy it.

    Thanks for sharing the info!


  2. I had the pleasure of playing with Tom Taylor’s recent band from Ohio which featured David Hider on bass and Jeannie on vocals with Tom. Tom has since moved to Vegas after a falling out with the band who’s name I cannot recall at this moment!

    Also the Cheryl mentioned above MUST be Byron Rice’s sister Cherly….we used to argue about who was better…..Me and the Guys or the MONKEES…..lol

    Mike Sommers ………. Univex@aol.com


  3. Haha…….Mike Sommers! What was to argue about? Everybody knows Me and the Guys were better! 🙂


  4. Great to hear from you! How and where is Byron???



Leave a Reply

