h1

My First Playboy

September 18, 2008

This was the first issue of Playboy (April 1972) I purchased by myself. I bought it in a store in Wooster, OH at the age of 14. A few months later I subscribed and remained a Playboy subscriber throughout most of the 70’s. I even joined the Playboy Club (ask your Daddy what those were, Sonny) when I turned 18 and had a Playboy Key for two years (got to use it twice). It’s amusing to look back at Playboy retrospectively. It was bold to bring home a Playboy at 14 back in April 1972 especially being the son of a minister. But with all these decades separating that purchase it sure seems tame now, but it was a ‘right of passage’ for us snot-nosed punk teenagers in 1972.

 

I think the last one I bought had John Lennon’s last interview circa 1980.

2 comments

  1. I think I was about 10 when I bought my first ‘Playboy’…


  2. Strangely, I didn’t get hold of a PLAYBOY ’til I was 18…but I had been buying HUSTLER and HIGH SOCIETY for five years by then! The kids at school all laughed when I went prematurely grey at age 12…but I NEVER ONCE got carded for anything!!! Hahhahaha (last laugh)!



Leave a Reply

