h1

Mott The Hoople…..Reunited In ’09?

September 25, 2008

Never in all my wildest dreams would I have ever thought it possible: A Mott The Hoople reunion? It just may happen.

 

Recently original member Verden Allen slipped the word during a radio interview that Mott The Hoople will reunite in 2009 for at least a couple of British gigs (possibly some USA appearances???) to celebrate the band’s 40th anniversary. 2009 will also mark Ian Hunter’s 70th (!) birthday.

 

As an a-v-i-d Mott The Hoople fan since 1971 I always figured they would never reunite, even temporarily, after years of reading interviews with Ian Hunter, Dale ‘Buffin’ Griffin and others, all stating that ‘le Hoople would never reform, regroup or reunite. Pete ‘Overend’ Watts’ adamant refusal to even discuss the possibility for the past several decades has almost become legendary.

 

One other clue: Ian Hunter, for years, has dismissed a Mott The Hoople reunion. But in a recent Horse’s Mouth entry on his website (where Hunter addresses and answers his fans), this occurred in the August 15 edition: “Willie Fae, Glasgow: ‘Rumours at fever pitch about a Mott the Hoople Reunion.’  (Hunter’s response:) ‘You never know, William. You never know….’” That’s as close to an admission as you’ll get!

 

Allen’s interview on the Rock The Mike show on BCB Radio, hosted by Mike Mitchell, revealed that tentatively the original five have agreed to reunite in ’09 with a couple appearances already scheduled for the London Hammersmith with additional venues to follow. Rumors persist of a possible album as well, a subject Allen teased. Some former members are also apparently rehearsing.

 

 

You can listen to the interview at: ROCK THE MIKE SHOW

 

For latest developments I suggest staying current with Ian Hunter’s message board. If they only do British gigs hopefully for us in the USA who can’t make it over we’ll have a new album as well as an eventual live album and a DVD would be nice.

3 comments

  1. Oh no! Another reunion of aging rockers to remind me how old I’m getting. Every time I saw that Peter Frampton Geico commercial, I thought of the time I saw Frampton at Byers Field in Parma. This was about 5 months before Frampton Comes Alive came out and Peter wasn’t even the headliner. The James Gang was. And seeing Joe Walsh with the Eagles nowadays don’t make me feel young either.


    • I was at this same show!!! Thanks for the memories. Also, I did not realize James Gang headlined. For me, all eyes were on Peter. I’m on Facebook and the new thing is what was the first band you saw and I couldn’t remember what year I saw this show – was it 1973 or 1974…so thanks again for clarifying. Take care!


  2. Not being a globe trotter I was unable to attend the Mott the Hoople reunion, but did purchase the CD’s of the show. Great stuff. One comment that lingered for me was that the audience stood during the entire show. Although not that impressive a feat at first blush I would hasten to remind what the likely age would have been for that august collective.

    I was able to see Mott the Hoople twice. I still regard them to be as great a guitar band as ever lived and the greatest glam band ever. Pure fun. I became light-headed when they opened the first show with “The Golden Age of Rock and Roll.” Like doc, I saw an incredible number of shows in the 70’s and few of them had everyone in the audience foot-stompin’ like MTH.



Leave a Reply

