h1

Favorite Books Of My Youth #7

October 28, 2008

The Illuminatus Trilogy came out in 1975 during my senior year of high school and I purchased them at Dick Zarles’ Drug Store in Orrville, OH. I recall reading about them in Crawdaddy Magazine and, as an impressionable teenager in the post-hippie era and post-Nixon era I was all for conspiracy theories and the like. Other publications began hyping it and there were some writers who boldly proclaimed it was true!

 

Supposedly written in 1969 by Robert Shea and Robert Anton Wilson, it’s basically a science fiction spawned story of magic, sex, drugs and conspiracy interwoven with factual and fictional conspiracies. It was a tough read as I often surmised the authors were likely tripping (old school version) as they knocked out the pages of their version of the Illuminati.

 

The three books were titled The Eye In The Pyramid, The Golden Apple and Leviathan. For a minute or two I actually thought it may all be true but soon afterwards I apparently came to my senses. Until ‘W’ was elected that is.

 

I’d explain more about the books but fear of assassination and the potential for my family to disappear prevents that (anyone who read the books know where I’m coming from – OK, OK, tongue is in cheek!). Check out more of the Illuminati on this website.

 

3 comments

  1. Been meaning to blog on these for some time now, myself. Still the trippiest story I have EVER read! Tried to re-read the trilogy (the same editions you show here) last year and didn’t quite finish the first. Brought back a ton of long-forgotten (and some better so) memories of the late sixties/early seventies underground, anarchist and conspiracy movements!


  2. I hope you blog on these books Steve! Looking forward to reading your perspective in depth. They were books for their times, weren’t they?


  3. I also love these books – Robert Anton Wilson is my favorite author.



Leave a Reply

