h1

Country Rant

October 15, 2011

This is really going to piss some people off that I know but it has to be said. I’m a rock ‘n roller. Also like Motown, soul and blues. And, at times, when I’m in the mood (once every decade maybe) I like to listen to country music.
 
That’s c-o-u-n-t-r-y music!


See, today, younger people, people my age (baby boomers) and even older folks, listen to stuff from (I don’t even know the names, let me ask someone….) Shania Twain, Kenny Chesney, Lady Antebellum, Carrie Underwood, you get the drift. To my friends who love this stuff, stop preaching! I ain’t buying it!


I grew up hearing country music. My Mom listened to it and a couple of my aunts and uncles listened to it. I know what real country is, the way it originated a century ago, and that stuff they play now, it ain’t real country, it’s a bubble gum version of it, some of it disco-ized over-slick production and there are so many who sound the same!


They’re making Fritos.


You want to listen to it and love it? Great! More power to you! Just don’t act dismayed when I say I’d rather not hear it or don’t listen to it or avoid it. Don’t mean to hurt your feelings. But to me, and blame it on my upbringing and personal musicial prejudices, but real country music isn’t today’s bubble gum wanna-be stuff, real, R-E-A-L country music (to me) is Hank Williams, Johnny Cash, Loretta Lynn, Patsy Cline, Tammy Wynette, George Jones and Charley Pride.


Not Sherrie Austin or Sugarland.

2 comments

  1. Took a quick look and the only country cd’s I own are by Johnny Cash, Patsy Cline, Glen Campbell and Miranda Lambert. How’s that for a gap?


  2. Don’t forget Merle Haggard. When did it start to go bad? With Kenny Rogers, maybe? Everyone knows I despise country music but are shocked to find my collection well stocked with Johnny Cash, Lorettie, etc. If I call it “roots rock” and then no one blinks an eye. Modern country is souless. And mindless.



Leave a Reply

